Mercedes AMG – The Remarkable Team

Mercedes F1 Biography

Mercedes AMG is a Formula 1 team that was present back in the 1950’s. Which makes Mercedes one of the oldest teams in the sport. With its HQ based in Brackley, UK and Toto Wolff as the team’s chief. Currently using their own power units under German license. They’ve won 8 Constructors’ Championships and nine Drivers’ Championship till now. Their current drivers are Lewis Hamilton and George Russell.

The team tasted success in their debut season itself in 1954 when Fangio won French Grand Prix and ended up winning Drivers’ Championship. The same happened in 1955. The team as been considered successful since then. Despite having two consecutive successful seasons, the team withdrew from the sport due to 1955 Le Mans disaster.

The team re-entered in the Formula 1 world in 1994 as an engine manufacturer for Ilmor and McLaren. They won one constructors’ and three drivers’ championship with McLaren. This lasted till 2009. They bought Brawn GP in 2010 and re-named it as Mercedes.

Mercedes has become one of the most successful teams in Formula One history since significant rule changes in 2014, which mandated the use of hybrid electric engines, by winning seven consecutive Drivers’ titles from 2014 to 2020 and eight consecutive Constructors’ titles from 2014 to 2021. The firm is ranked second in Formula One history and has supplied engines for more over 200 victories.

Engine Supplier
Mercedes Formula 1

In 1994, Mercedes and Ilmor partnered to return to Formula One as engine suppliers. Mercedes first worked with Sauber for one season before switching to McLaren in 1995 for a highly successful 20-year collaboration. Mercedes also started working with Brawn GP, which was ultimately purchased to become the Mercedes factory team, and Force India, which later changed its name to Racing Point and then Aston Martin F1.

In 2014, Williams, a fourth team, was introduced to the supplying program. Before the 2015 season, the 20-year collaboration with McLaren came to an end; it would resume in 2021. For one season in 2015 and one season in 2016, Mercedes provided engines to the Manor and Lotus F1 Teams, respectively.

For the 2022, Mercedes supplies engines to Aston Martin F1, McLaren, and Williams, in addition to themselves.

Racing History
Mercedes 2014
Mercedes Formula 1 Lewis Hamilton

Winning a record 16 out of 19 races in the inaugural season of the hybrid engine era, with 11 one-two finishes. With three rounds left, win the inaugural constructors’ championship; thanks to Lewis Hamilton, win the first drivers’ championship since Juan Manuel Fangio in the 1950s. Ended up at P1.

Mercedes 2015

Lewis Hamilton drives Mercedes to a second consecutive championship double, with the team once again winning 16 of the year’s 19 races and breaking their own record of 12 one-two finishes set in 2014. Completing P1 once more.

Mercedes 2016

Teams’ dominance reaches new heights as they win 19 out of 21 games to earn a third consecutive title double. This time, however, it is Nico Rosberg wins the drivers’ title after a fierce season-long battle. Shortly after, however, he shocks the team and the Formula One community by announcing his immediate retirement from the sport. Finishing again at P1.

Mercedes 2017

Hamilton successfully transitions into his role as the team’s de facto number one with the departure of his former rival Rosberg, guiding them to victory while new partner Valtteri Bottas earns his first Formula One points. Again P1.

Mercedes 2018

Despite rival Ferrari frequently having the faster car, Lewis Hamilton’s 11 victories help the team secure a fifth consecutive championship double, maintaining their domination of the turbo-hybrid era. After being made to act as Hamilton’s rear-gunner, teammate Valtteri Bottas closes the year without a victory. P1

Mercedes 2019

With an unprecedented five one-two triumphs to start the season and an additional 10 victories to follow, they were able to clinch their sixth consecutive title double. Success frequently depends more on overall teamwork than strict pace. Lewis Hamilton is forced to work hard to win his sixth drivers’ championship as Valtteri Bottas steps up his game, putting him dangerously close to Michael Schumacher’s all-time record. Ending 2019 at P1.

Mercedes 2020
Mercedes Formula 1 Lewis Hamilton

When you think things can’t get any better, Mercedes, and especially Lewis Hamilton, shift things up a notch. Despite missing a round with Covid-19, the defending champion wins 11 races and sets numerous records his route to a seventh drivers’ championship that ties Schumacher’s record. Bottas’s two victories give Mercedes another commanding double championship. P1.

Mercedes 2021

Withstand the largest threat to their hegemony over the turbo-hybrid. Despite winning eight races, Lewis Hamilton loses the drivers’ championship to Max Verstappen of Red Bull, while the team barely hangs onto the constructors’ crown, which they have now won for eight straight years. P1.

Mercedes 2022

Being a tougher year than before, the team has been out qualified by both Red Bull and Ferrari. Lewis winning 0 races where as his new teammate George Russell won just one grand prix. Ending up their campaign at P3.

Racing Record
  • Constructors’ Championships winning percentage: 66.7%
  • Drivers’ Championships winning percentage: 64.3%
  • Winning percentage: 46.1%

For Money Market News, visit Click Here

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

Articles: 29


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *