Red Bull Racing – The Fascinating Team

Red Bull Racing Biography

Red Bull Racing Formula 1 team is not a new name to the rich sport. With it’s headquarters in Milton Keynes, United Kingdom with Austrian license. The team has some big names associated with it. With Christian Horner as Team Chief and Pierre Wache as Technical Chief. The team is 5 times World Champion. They first entered the Formula 1 world in the year 2005.

The success of the this racing team started with their first podium in 2006. Red Bull Racing had their ups and downs over a decade and a half. They had their first march in 2009, grasping six victories and second in the constructor’s championship. Over the next four years, they had their triumph era by winning consecutive Driver’s Championship and Constructor’s Championship between 2010 and 2013 courtesy of Sebastian Vettel and Mark Webber.

With Sebastian Vettel as the emerging star and youngest World Champion (then), now their hope lie with young and furious talent – Max Verstappen. But with the consistency of Mercedes AMG F1 team, Red Bull hit their bottom from 2014 – 2021. The team won their next Constructors in 2022 after a wait of nine years.

Red Bull announced in the fall of 2005 that they had acquired the struggling Minardi Formula One team, which would be rebranded as Scuderia Toro Rosso starting in 2006. The team known as Scuderia Toro Rosso competes independently. Prior to Red Bull Racing, Toro Rosso achieved their first victory. Vettel’s victory for Red Bull in 2009 also helped to guarantee Vettel a position with the team. 

The team changed its name to Scuderia AlphaTauri for 2020 after Red Bull’s fashion line AlphaTauri won their first Grand Prix under the new moniker in the Italian Grand Prix. Since Olivier Panis won the 1996 Monaco Grand Prix, Pierre Gasly’s victory in this race was the first of his racing career and the first for a French driver.

Red Bull Racing Engine History
Red Bull Racing

In 2005, Red Bull Racing used Cosworth engines, and in 2006, it used Ferrari engines. Renault engines were used by the team from 2007 to 2018. (from 2016 to 2018, the Renault engine was re-badged “TAG Heuer” following the breakdown in the relationship between Red Bull and Renault in 2015). They Engine became the first Austrian team to win the championship during this relationship, winning four straight Drivers’ and Constructors’ Championship crowns from 2010 to 2013. 

In 2019, it switched to Honda engines. After Red Bull Racing driver Max Verstappen won the 2021 World Drivers’ Championship and repeated as champion in 2022, the works Honda collaboration came to an end. Honda officially quit the sport in 2021, but it will still provide engines from Japan through 2025.

Racing History
Red Bull Racing 2014

After a dismal preseason with a subpar Renault power unit, the team recovered to place second to all-conquering Mercedes and became the only other team to take home a victory. Rising star Ricciardo dominates champion Vettel, who leaves for Ferrari at the conclusion of the year, and wins three races.

Red Bull Racing 2015

The remarkable turnaround of 2014 is quickly forgotten as Red Bull struggles with additional power unit troubles, which cause them to slide further down the competitive order and sever their relationship with Renault. The Australian driver Daniel Ricciardo and his new teammate Daniil Kvyat, who ultimately finished ahead of Ricciardo in the standings, could only manage three podium finishes and fourth place, which was their lowest performance since 2008.

Red Bull Racing 2016

Daniel Ricciardo and rising star Max Verstappen each win a race for the team thanks to the combination of the excellent RB12 chassis and greatly improved Renault power unit (now badged TAG Heuer). Verstappen, who joined the team from sister team Toro Rosso for round four onwards, surprises by winning on his racing debut.

Red Bull Racing 2017

Dropping to third place in the standings due to poor Renault reliability and unable to keep up with the reigning world champion Mercedes and a resurgent Ferrari. However, by winning three races between them, Daniel Ricciardo and Max Verstappen demonstrate their star power.

Red Bull Racing 2018

Only sporadically are they in real contention for victory due to their Renault power units’ poor performance and dependability; Verstappen won in Austria and Mexico, while Ricciardo won in China and Monaco. The end result is a very lonely third place in the final standings, but thanks to Honda engines in 2019, there is hope for improvement.

Red Bull Racing 2019

The switch from Renault to Honda power is remarkably seamless, and Max Verstappen‘s four victories guarantee a point total that is almost identical to 2018. A genuine title challenge in 2020 is more likely if rookie Alex Albon replaces Pierre Gasly at the halfway point of the season. But the replacement was still not enough for Red Bull Racing to win both Championships after a long wait.

Red Bull Racing 2020

Consistently ahead of the middle of the field but rarely able to match the speed of the champion Mercedes. A lonely second in the standings. With two victories and nine additional podium finishes, Max Verstappen dominates, but Alex Albon is dropped for 2021 after just two top-three finishes.

Red Bull Racing 2021
Red Bull Racing

Winning 11 of 22 races to win their first drivers’ title since 2013, and compete fiercely, at times angrily, in the constructors’ championship against Mercedes. Sergio Perez, Max Verstappen’s new teammate Sergio Perez, is crucial to his successful title defense. Defeating pace of Lewis Hamilton & Valtteri Bottas

Red Bull Racing 2022

The team claims that 2022 is their best season since the beginning of their journey in Formula 1. Both the current drivers, Max Verstappen and Sergio Perez gave their best and the team won both Driver’s Championship and Constructor’s Championship with no competition whatsoever.

Red Bull Racing Stats

As a constructor, Red Bull Racing have achieved the following statistics:

  • Constructors’ Championships winning percentage: 23.5%
  • Drivers’ Championships winning percentage: 29.4%
  • Winning percentage: 26.1%

For Money Market News, visit Click Here

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

Articles: 29


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *