Virat Kohli is accused of “fake fielding” by Bangladesh in the World Cup defeat.

Bangladesh will bring up Virat Kohli’s “fake fielding” as the reason for their heartbreaking T20 World Cup defeat with cricket’s governing body, an official told AFP on Thursday.

Bangladesh’s chances of making it to the semifinals for the first time were all but bashed after India defeated Bangladesh by five runs in the rain-soaked match in Adelaide on Wednesday that went down to the final ball.

you may also like - India Vs Bangladesh T20 WC Match-23 Report

Later, Bangladesh’s Nurul Hasan claimed that Kohli’s “fake throw,” which could have tied the game, was missed by the onfield umpires. He told reporters, “It could have been a five-run penalty.” That might have also gone our way, but regrettably… that didn’t happen.

Moments before play was halted by rain, Liton Das hit a ball off Axar Patel in the seventh over of Bangladesh’s innings that went far into the off-side field. Arshdeep Singh threw the ball back, and Kohli, who was positioned at point, pretended to chuck the ball as it whistled past him. Despite the fact that Liton and non-striking batsman Najmul Hossain pointed it out to umpires Marais Erasmus and Chris Brown, they did nothing.

Bangladesh would bring up the issue of “fake fielding” if an opportunity comes at the International Cricket Council’s board meeting, which is slated to take place in Melbourne next week during the event, according to BCB cricket operations chief Jalal Yunus. Yunus further claimed that a slick surface after the match’s restart had hindered Bangladesh’s prospects of winning, stopping the openers’ momentum following a scorching 21-ball fifty from Liton.

After a 45-minute break, the game was resumed, with Bangladesh given a revised target of 151 runs from 16 overs to chase India’s 184-6. After the halt, Liton turned for a second run but slipped, and he was run out for 60 off 27 balls. Bangladesh fell to 145-6 to concede a narrow defeat.

What does rulebook say about "fake fielding" ?

According to Law 41.5.1, it is unfair for any fielder to purposefully try to distract, mislead, or hinder either batsman after the striker has received the ball through words or deeds.

However, according to Article 41.5.2, the umpires are responsible for determining whether any distraction or deception was intentional or not. In this instance, it doesn’t appear that Kohli’s move was “wilful” in the eyes of the umpires.

“It is for any one of the umpires to determine whether any distraction, deception, or obstruction is wilful or not,” states article 41.5.2.

If Kohli had been judged guilty of “fake fielding,” Bangladesh would have received 5 runs from the umpires.

Has anyone been penalised under this rule?

In a close game against South Africa last year, Pakistan was refused a fake fielding penalty. Quinton de Kock, the wicketkeeper for South Africa, looked to indicate that a throw from the deep was headed to the bowler’s end as Pakistan needed 31 runs to win off its final six deliveries before Fakhar Zaman was run out.

Fakhar slowed down, thinking the ball wouldn’t reach his end, only for Aiden Markram’s throw to strike the stumps at the keeper’s end and catch him outside of his crease.

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

Articles: 29

One comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *